A Guide to QuarkXPress 2018

Redline

In a document review environment, reviewers such as managing editors and copy editors make changes to projects. The Redline feature provides a way to track these changes so writers, editors, project managers, and other users can see what is happening to a project and confirm that changes are appropriate. Using the Redline feature, you can view the insertions and deletions made in a project and decide whether to accept or reject the changes.

When used with Quark Publishing Platform®, the Redline feature uses settings defined in Quark Publishing Platform. For more information, see A Guide to Quark Publishing Platform.

Tracking changes

To turn on tracking, do one of the following things:

  • Make sure Utilities > Redline > Tracking is checked.

  • Display the Redline toolbar (Utilities >Redline >Show ToolBar) and then click the Tracking button .

You can use the Redline toolbar to turn change tracking on and off.

When tracking is turned on, QuarkXPress tracks all changes made to the text of the active project. Deleted text is not displayed in WYSIWYG view, but the deletions are still tracked. Deletions are visible in Galley and Full Screen Views.

You can use the Redline feature to track changes you make

Formatting changes are not tracked.

Viewing tracked changes

To display all tracked changes, do one of the following:

  • Make sure Utilities > Redline > Highlighting is checked.

  • Display the Redline toolbar (Utilities > Redline > Show ToolBar) and then click the Highlighting button .

You can navigate through the changes made to the component using the navigation buttons (Previous and Next ) on the Redline toolbar.

To control what kind of changes are displayed, click View Highlighting Options in the Redline toolbar. The View Highlighting Options dialog box displays. In the Highlight drop-down menu, you can choose to view Insertions Only, Deletions Only, or Insertions and Deletions. You can use the Select Reviewers list to view only changes made by a particular reviewer, or check All to view changes made by all reviewers.

You can use the View Options dialog box to control which reviewers' edits you view, and whether you view insertions, deletions, or both.

Only insertions and deletions that were made to the component while Tracking was enabled are highlighted.

To change the appearance of change-tracking formatting, use the controls in the Redline pane of the Application Preferences dialog box (Edit > Preferences (Windows) or (QuarkXPress > Preferences (Mac OS X)).

Accepting and rejecting changes

Accepting an insertion removes the highlighting and adds the text to the component's content. Accepting a deletion removes the content from the component. To accept a change, select the target text and then choose an option from the Accept drop-down menu (Redline toolbar):

  • Accept Change: Accepts the selected change.

  • Accept All Displayed Changes: Accepts all changes highlighted in the component.

  • Accept All Changes: Accepts all changes made by all reviewers.

Rejecting an insertion removes the text from the component, while rejecting a deletion removes the highlighting and keeps the text in the component as normal text. To reject a change, select the target text and then choose an option from the Reject drop-down menu (Redline toolbar):

  • Reject Change: Rejects the selected change.

  • Reject All Displayed Changes: Rejects all the changes highlighted in the component.

  • Reject All Changes: Rejects all changes made by all reviewers.